The Frightening Fairytales of Candice Tripp

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 12.05.59 PM

This month’s art adventure lead me into the dark world of Candice Tripp, who draws these moment-in-time impressions that always seem to be a snapshot of a decision: either making a decision, coming to a decision, or going full-on crazy into everything that decision requires. I stumbled on her work through Tumblr, which lead me on a goose-chase to her blog/website, and by then, I knew I had to write a profile on her.

Her actually creeps me out, but in that way when you see the preview for a scary movie and you know its going to be good and twisted, not full of jump scares and screaming women. I find her Prospect Hill to be the best of the best. I spent a lot of time studying it, finding the Easter eggs within it. There’s a lot of story that can be created from that piece of work.

Surprisingly, this article was harder to write than most. I had this intricate beginning of how Prospect Hill looked like a dark Candy Land. Beta readers gave me raised eyebrows and confused looks, so I had to kill that unfortunate darling. But if you look at it, you can see the lollipop woods full of ghosts and the gumdrop mountain a place of sacrifice and the frosted palace full of broomstick witches.

Read the completed article here!

Leave a Reply

